09 Apr 2010Blog

ICC World Twenty20 2010

by Jonathan

In exactly 3 weeks’ time the ICC World Twenty20 2010 main event begins on April 30th in Guyana with Sri Lanka Vs New Zealand.

The matches will be held in Barbados, Guyana, St.Lucia and St.Kitts & Nevis. The men’s tournament will be contested by 12 teams, which have been split into 4 groups of 3. There are 2 seeded teams in each group. Each group will be played on a round-robin basis with the top 2 sides progressing to the Super Eight stages.

Group A Group B Group C Group D
Pakistan Sri Lanka South Africa West Indies
Bangladesh New Zealand India England
Australia Zimbabwe Afghanistan Ireland

Events Coordinator and Acting President of the Barbados Cricket Association, Conde Riley has said that whilst this event is not on the same scale as the 2007 world cup, he is anticipating some large crowds, with some 2,600 fans expected to pack the Party Stand.

For more information check out the official event fixtures here.

Barbados matches take place from the 5th – 9th of May at the Oval.

You can purchase tickets locally on-island or from this website.